Newspaper that inspires change. Breaking stories that shake the world. Be informed, Don't Settle for Fake News.

feat shape 1
feat shape 2
feat shape 3

Indy 500 2024 Results: Josef Newgarden Defends Title; Kyle Larson Finishes 18th

Josef Newgarden wins back-to-back Indianapolis 500 races after a dramatic finish following a four-hour weather delay. Larson finishes 18th.

The Indianapolis 500 experienced a four-hour delay on Sunday due to severe weather conditions, but once the race finally began, Josef Newgarden emerged as the victor, successfully defending his title from the previous year. In a thrilling finish, Newgarden narrowly beat out Pato O'Ward and Alexander Rossi, overtaking O'Ward on the final lap to secure the win.

This victory marked Newgarden as the first driver to claim back-to-back wins at the event since Hélio Castroneves achieved the feat in 2001-2002. Meanwhile, Kyle Larson, who had been leading with only 20 laps left, ended up finishing in 18th place after a speeding penalty derailed his chances. Larson had been aiming to become the fifth driver ever to compete in both the Indianapolis 500 and the Coca-Cola 600 on the same day, a feat that has only been accomplished by Tony Stewart.

The weather delay, characterized by heavy rain and strong winds, prevented Larson from fully participating in both races, adding to the drama of the day. The race itself was not without its share of excitement, with multiple crashes occurring early on that took several drivers out of contention, including Felix Rosenqvist, Colton Hera, Marco Andretti, and Will Power. Additionally, Ryan Hunter-Reay's race came to an end after a collision with Scott Dixon, a incident that surprisingly did not result in a penalty for Dixon.

Despite the challenges presented by the weather and the intense competition, Newgarden expressed his gratitude for his team's hard work and dedication, emphasizing their role in his success. The race was a true test of skill and endurance, showcasing the resilience and determination of the drivers and their teams.

Share With Others

Comments on Indy 500 2024 Results: Josef Newgarden Defends Title; Kyle Larson Finishes 18th